There are three primary books written by Tarthang Tulku that lay out the system of Kum Nye.

Kum Nye Tibetan Yoga (originally published as Kum Nye Relaxation) – new printing this year – yay! The book is laid out more clearly and has a new index of the drawings in the back! Exercises are grouped into Preparation, Massage, Guiding Practice, Balancing and Integrating, Stimulating and Transforming.

The Joy of Being Both books are in the Nyingma Psychology series of Dharma Publishing, and as such, are considered texts about healing. While the first book focuses on healing the body, this one shifts to working more deeply with mind and senses.

Kum Nye Dancing This book explores the wholeness of being through gestures based in the Tibetan tradition of lama dancing. You can view some examples of the dancing here and here.cropped-img_36631.jpg

They can, and should be, thought of as increasing in depth and intensity. If you are familiar with the system of body, breath and mind (OM AH HUM) in Buddhism, the three books generally correlate with this model.

It is said that one should thoroughly work with the books in the order in which they were written. This is true. The skills developed in the earlier books are necessary to fully appreciate and experience the later ones.

That said, I do believe it is possible to now approach and work with the first book with the second and third in mind, and the second book with the third in mind.
Might you have any ideas about that? I’d love to hear them.


50 thoughts on “Kum Nye books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s